The ITF and Kosmos Tennis have confirmed the last two ties for the 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifiers following a draw ceremony at the ITF offices in London on Tuesday.

Kazakhstan will be at home to Portugal, while Slovakia will be at home to Canada.

The 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifiers will be held on 1-2 February at 12 locations around the world. The 12 winning nations in the Qualifiers will compete in the 2019 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas finals at La Caja Magica in Madrid on 18-24 November.

They will join the four countries that reached the semifinals this year (France, Croatia, United States and Spain) and two wildcards (Argentina and Great Britain) in the new 18-team season finale.

Portugal and Slovakia were the final two nations to advance to the Qualifiers from the Europe/Africa region based on the Davis Cup Nations Ranking of Monday 29 October following the 2018 Europe/Africa Zone Group I play-offs. In the play-offs, Portugal defeated South Africa 4-0 on 19-20 October, and Slovakia defeated Belarus 3-1 on 26-27 October.

The full draw is as follows:

2019 Qualifiers (1-2 February)
Brazil (c) v Belgium (s)
Uzbekistan (c) v Serbia (s)
Australia (s) (c) (*) v Bosnia/Herzegovina
India (c) v Italy (s)
Germany (s) (c) v Hungary
Switzerland (s) (c) v Russia
Kazakhstan (s) (c) (*) v Portugal
Czech Republic (s) (c) v Netherlands
Colombia (c) (*) v Sweden (s)
Austria (s) (c) v Chile
Slovakia (c) v Canada (s)
China, P.R. (c) v Japan (s)

(s) denotes seeded nation
(c) denotes choice of ground
(*) denotes choice of ground determined by lot

Qualifier ties will consist of four singles rubbers and one doubles rubber with all matches played over the best-of-three tiebreak sets. Two singles rubbers will be played on Friday 1 February, with the doubles followed by the two reverse singles rubbers on Saturday 2 February.

Leave a Reply